Jul 15, 2024  
2010-2011 Academic Catalog 
2010-2011 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential and Reading Certificate

Susan Neufeld, Ed.D., Program Coordinator

This credential and certificate are offered through the Department of Teacher Education .

The Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential may be completed independent of or in conjunction with the Master of Arts  degree. Courses are scheduled in the late afternoon and evening to enable employed individuals to attend. Candidates may obtain their Reading Certificate (15 units) and/or their Reading/Language Arts Reading Specialist Credential (30 units). The 15 units required for the Reading Certificate also are included in the Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential.

Application Procedures

To gain full admission to the advanced credential program only, the applicant must:

  1. Complete the University admission form online at www.csumentor.edu.

  2. Submit transcripts to the Graduate School in the Mary Stuart Rogers Educational Services Gateway Building (MSR 160), including at least the last 60 units of college/university coursework.

  3. Submit letters of recommendation to the Reading Credential Program Coordinator (check with the advanced credential program coordinator for the exact number required).

  4. Submit test scores (e.g., CBEST) required by the advanced credential program to the Reading Credential Program Coordinator. For Life Credential holders, the CBEST will be waived.

  5. Submit proof of valid teaching credential to the Reading Credential Program Coordinator.

  6. Participate in an interview and have the program file evaluated by the Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential Program Advisory Committee.

Note: Before beginning the above procedures, a conference with the program coordinator is required.

Grade Requirements

It is expected that the student seeking an advanced credential will maintain a grade point average of 3.0 while in the program. Minimum acceptable grade for a credential course is a C.

Final Requirements

To obtain the required recommendation for the advanced credential from CSU Stanislaus, the student must:

  1. Complete all of the coursework required in the advanced credential program.
  2. Achieve the competency in the knowledge and skill areas of the program.
  3. Submit a minimum overall grade point average of 3.0 for all coursework required for the credential.
  4. Pass an oral exit examination on the knowledge of reading during the last semester of coursework.
  5. Submit a completed application form for the credential, along with a receipt which verifies that fees have been paid at the Credential Processing Center, P-303.



To be considered for admission to this advanced credential program only, the applicant must:

1. Possess a baccalaureate degree.

2. Have earned at least a 3.0 grade point average in the last 60 units attempted.

3. Possess a valid teaching credential.

4. Have at least one year of teaching experience in reading in any grade K–12.

Reading Credential Requirements

In addition to completion of the above courses for the Reading Certificate (15 units), the following courses must be completed to earn the Reading Credential (30 units):


These units are required for the Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential. Students in Reading Recovery Training may transfer up to six Reading Recovery units that will substitute for EDRG 4240 and EDRG 5910.