Mar 31, 2023  
2009-2010 Graduate Catalog (inactive) 
2009-2010 Graduate Catalog (inactive) [Archived Catalog]

Preliminary Level I Education Specialist: Mild/Moderate Disabilities and Moderate/Severe Disabilities

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges and Departments

This is a preliminary credential offered through the Department of Advanced Studies in Education .

California State University, Stanislaus is authorized to recommend individuals for Education Specialist Credentials in two areas: Mild/Moderate Disabilities and Moderate/Severe Disabilities. The Level I programs prepare individuals to perform responsibilities of entry-level special education teachers.

When a graduate of the Level I program obtains a special education position, an application is filed with the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing and the Preliminary Level I Education Specialist Credential is issued. This credential is valid for five years while Level II preparation  is completed. It is recommended that undergraduates seeking admission to the Education Specialist Preliminary Level I Credential enroll in the Liberal Studies major with a concentration in Exceptional Children and Youth.

Note: A prerequisite teaching credential, Multiple or Single Subject, is not required to obtain the Education Specialist Credential.

Requirements: Preliminary Level I Education Specialist Credential

The following is a sequence of steps to obtain an Education Specialist Preliminary Level I Credential: Mild/Moderate and Moderate/Severe Disabilities. Admission forms and a full description of the documentation and coursework requirements are included in the Specialist Education Level I Credential Handbook.

Courses preceded by one (√) are requirements and those preceded by two (√√) are electives in the undergraduate concentration Exceptional Children and Youth.

1. Pass CBEST and complete the following courses with a grade of B or better:

  • PSYC 3240* - Human Development II: Adolescence

2. Demonstrate the following:

  1. Subject Matter Competence:
    • Elementary level (CSET Multiple Subject exam)
    • Middle and secondary level (CSET Single Subject exam or complete a CCTC-approved subject matter preparation program.)
  2. The GPA requirement. (2.67 in all baccalaureate and postbaccalaureate coursework or GPA of at least 2.75 in the last 60 units; 3.0 in all EDSE/PSYC coursework.)

3. Submit a completed application to the Department of Advanced Studies in Education and participate in the Admission Interview.

5. Complete the following courses with grades of “B” or better.

Full admission to the program is required to enroll in the courses:

6. Complete credential-specific coursework with a grade of B or better.


*Please consult the Undergraduate catalog for undergraduate-level course descriptions.

**Candidates who possess a valid MSCP or a SSCP are not required to complete EDMS 4191 if they seek the Special Education Credential only.

Additional Admission Requirements: Preliminary Level I Education Specialist Credential

  1. Students must be admitted to the University as an undergraduate or postbaccalaureate student.
  2. Complete an application for admission to the Preliminary Level I Credential Program. The application packet is available online at and in the Advanced Studies office. Refer to the packet for application deadlines, admission criteria during the year of application and acceptance, and any additional requirements.
  3. Complete an upper-division writing course (listed as WP in the Undergraduate Catalog) or pass an equivalent test or submit a verifiable score of 41 or higher on the writing portion of CBEST.
  4. Complete PSCI 1201 American Government or an equivalent course that fulfills the U.S. Constitution requirement.
  5. File a Certificate of Clearance with the application to the program.
  6. Verification of Early Field Experience. All candidates must complete 45 hours of documented field experience in K-12 classrooms.

Completion Requirements

The student will be recommended by CSU Stanislaus for the Preliminary Level I Education Specialist Credential upon satisfactory completion of the following:

  1. All Level I program requirements with grades of B or better.
  2. Verification of baccalaureate degree.
  3. Passing score on the Reading Instruction Competency Assessment (RICA) (effective January 2000).
  4. Satisfactory performance on exit interview or examination. The Preliminary credential is valid for five years, while Professional Level II preparation is completed.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges and Departments