Jun 22, 2018  
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog 
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

College of Natural Sciences

Roger McNeil, Ph.D., Dean

Office: Naraghi Hall of Science — N372
Phone: (209) 667-3153

Thomas J. Carter, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Computer Science and Program Director, Cognitive Studies
Mark Grobner, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Ian Littlewood, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Physics, Physical Sciences, and Geology
Shane Phillips, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Chemistry
Thomas Abram, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Mathematics

Horacio Ferriz, Ph.D., Program Director, Geology
Marvin Johnson, PH.D., Program Director, Joint Engineering Program
Roger McNeil, Program Director, Environmental Sciences
Pam Roe, Ph.D., Program Director, Marine Sciences

Departments in the College of Natural Sciences:

Department of Biological Sciences 
Department of Chemistry 
Department of Computer Science 
Department of Mathematics 
Department of Physics, Physical Sciences, and Geology 

In Spring 2006, California State University, Stanislaus created the College of Natural Sciences, composed of the departments of Biological Sciences; Chemistry; Computer Science; Mathematics; and Physics, Physical Sciences, and Geology. The College of Natural Sciences establishes a scientific community dedicated to providing students the intellectual and technological capacity to contribute to and succeed in their academic and scientific pursuits. It seeks to educate students through quality instruction, experiential learning, research and internship opportunities, and strong academic advisement.

Graduates in the academic disciplines within the College of Natural Sciences possess the analytical, problem-solving, and technical skills that are critical to their success in finding, evaluating, and contributing to the body of knowledge in their field, teaching in many arenas and contributing to the well-being of their communities. 

Cognitive Studies Program

Thomas J. Carter, Ph.D., Program Director

Core Faculty:
Carter (Computer Science),Tuedio (Philosophy), Myers, L. (Psychology), Wakefield (Psychology)
Adjunct Faculty: Campbell (Accounting), Stanislaw (Psychology), Flores (Teacher Education), Taniguchi (History), Lindsay (Accounting), Wink (Teacher Education), Savini (Art), Strongin (Psychology)

Office: DBH 287
Phone: (209) 667-3815

Bachelor of Arts in Cognitive Studies 
Minor in Cognitive Studies