Feb 23, 2019  
2018-2019 Academic Catalog 
2018-2019 Academic Catalog

College of the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

James A. Tuedio, Ph.D., Dean

Sari Miller-Antonio, Ph.D., Associate Dean
Nancy Burroughs, Ph.D., Associate Dean

Keith Nainby, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Communication Studies
Phil Garone, Ph.D., Chair, Department of History
Molly Crumpton Winter, Ph.D., Chair, Department of English
Kelvin Jasek-Rysdahl, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Economics/Agricultural Studies/Social Sciences
Chau-Pu Chiang, Ph.D., J.D., Chair, Department of Criminal Justice
Stuart Sims, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Music
Eric Broadwater, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Theatre
Sari Miller-Antonio, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Anthropology/Geography/Ethnic Studies
Tamara Sniezek, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Sociology/Gerontology/Gender Studies
Roxanne Robbin, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Art
David Colnic, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Political Science/Public Administration
Jason K. Winfree, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Philosophy/Modern Languages
Oluwarotimi Odeh, Ph.D., Rolland Starn Endowed Chair, Program Director, Agricultural Studies
Umar Ghuman, Ph.D., Program Co-Director, Public Administration Graduate Program
Gerard Wellman Ph.D., Program Co-Director, Public Administration Graduate Program
Bao Lo, Ph.D., Program Director, Ethnic Studies
Betsy Eudey, Ph.D., Program Director, Gender Studies
Richard Weikart, Ph.D., Program Director, History Graduate Program
Peggy Hauselt, Ph.D., Program Director, Geography
Steven Wood, Ph.D., Program Director, Criminal Justice Graduate Program
Andy Dorsey, Ph.D., Program Director, English Graduate Program
TBA, Program Director, Social Sciences
Teresa Bargetto Ph.D., Program Director, Modern Languages
Nancy Burroughs Ph.D., Program Director, Applied Leadership

Office: Demergasso-Bava Hall (DBH) 260
Phone: (209) 667-3531

Departments in the College of the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences:

School of the Arts 
     Department of Art 
     Department of Music 
     Department of Theatre 
Department of Anthropology/Geography/Ethnic Studies 
Department of Communication Studies 
Department of Criminal Justice 
Department of Economics/Agricultural Studies/Social Sciences 
Department of English 
Department of History 
Department of Philosophy/Modern Languages 
Department of Political Science/Public Administration 
Department of Sociology/Gerontology/Gender Studies 

A university education in the twenty-first century must be responsive to the complexities and challenges of a constantly changing world.  Central to the mission of the College of the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences is fostering an appreciation and understanding of the value of lifelong intellectual pursuit.  The College is committed to a liberal arts curriculum that broadens the mind and encourages students to become active, engaged, compassionate participants in our global society.  We are uniquely situated in the Central Valley of California at the interface of rural and urban communities of extraordinary ethnic diversity.  Our students benefit from this fertile environment by gaining the opportunity to study the historical and contemporary context of culture, society, place and language.


Accreditation is a voluntary quality assurance process that assists institutions in developing and maintaining the highest educational standards. Since 1963, Stanislaus State has been accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). In addition, each of the colleges has earned accreditation for their individual programs.

The Public Administration, Art, Music, and Theatre programs are respectively accredited by the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs & Administration, the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools of Music, and the National Association of Schools of Theatre.

NASPAA Accreditation Image

NASA Accreditation

NASM Accreditation Image

NAST Acceditation Image